The Society for Promotion of International Oto-Rhino-Laryngology

Message from the President

It was one of the important issues for the SPIO to become a Public Interest Corporation. We received the approval from the Prime Minister of Japan on March 19, 2012 and the SPIO was registered as a public interest corporation on April 1, 2012. As a result, we can continually support international researches and medical researchers in the Oto-Rhino-Laryngology field.

I, Yasuya Nomura, M.D. was appointed to serve as the President of the Society for Promotion of International Oto-Rhino-Laryngology (SPIO) again on June 29, 2012. I would like to make efforts for our projects with Vise-President Kimitaka Kaga, M.D. and other board members during the next two years. I appreciate your very generous understanding and cooperation to the SPIO in future.

Yasuya Nomura, M.D.
Society for Promotion of International Oto-Rhino-Laryngology (SPIO)

Project 2020

  • Institution of a scholarship for international researchers
  • Subsidy for international academic exchange
  • Subsidy for organization of international congress
  • Subsidy for international collaborative research
  • SPIO Award (for Auris Nasus Larynx)
  • Support for academic seminar or session by foreign visitor
  • Publication of the SPIO Newsletter

The SPIO Scholarship 2020 for International Researcher

There was no applicant to The SPIO Scholarship in 2020.

The Announcement for Applying for the SPIO Scholarship 2021

Guideline application form

Young medical professionals or medical trainees from abroad who intend to conduct and/or participate in research in Otolaryngology at any Japanese University may apply for this scholarship. They must contact the SPIO secretariat by the end of August so that we can send them an application form. The SPIO committee will select and decide the awardees and the amount of scholarship. Past awardees are also eligible to re-apply. A recommendation letter from any member of the SPIO is a pre-requisite.

The SPIO Award 2020

In 2020, 107 original papers were published by the journal Auris Nasus Larynx (ANL), Vol.47 (No.1 to No.6), and the selection was made by the Editorial Board members of ANL and the SPIO Award Selection Committee.

The recipient of SPIO Award for the year 2020 that was selected is as follows:

Geonho Lee:Neuropilin-2 promotes growth and progression of papillary thyroid cancer cells. ANL Vol.47, No.5, 870-880, 2020

Application for the SPIO Award 2021

The SPIO will select the most outstanding paper among the original papers submitted in the journal Auris Nasus Larynx, Vol.48 (No.1 to No.6), and will award a certificate and a cash prize (Japanese 500,000 yen). The first author of the paper should be younger than 45 years of age at the time of manuscript submission.

Subsidy for organization of international congress

The year 2020, the SPIO subsidized 4 organizations. Details are as follows;

  • The 15th Annual Meeting of Japan Society for Pediatric ORL: President; Prof. Masamitsu Hyodo, Kochi University
  • The 65th Congress of Japan Audiological Society: President; Prof. Michihiko Sone, Nagoya University
  • The 30th Annual Meeting of the Japan Otological Society: President; Prof. Hiroshi Yamashita, Yamaguchi University.
  • The 65th Annual Meeting of Japan Society of Logopedics and Phoniatrics: Prof. Takashi Nakagawa, Kyushu University

About the SPIO

Mission Statement:

To promote international scientific/academic exchange in the field of Oto-Rhino-Laryngology and its related field
To contribute forward the advancement of scientific issues in Oto-Rhino-Laryngology
To enhance international friendship, mutual understanding and cultural exchange


November 28, 1969

Shift to Public Interest Corporation:

April 1, 2012

Chartering Agency:

Cabinet Office - Public Interest Corporation Commission (PICC)

BOARD MEMBERS (As of June 24, 2021)

Position Name Institution
President Yasuya Nomura Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo
Vice-President Kimitaka Kaga Director Emeritus, National Hospital Organization Medical Cent
Executive Director Jin Kanzaki Professor Emeritus, Keio University
Executive Director Kaoru Ogawa Professor Emeritus, Keio University
Executive Director Yukiko Iino ORL Director, Tokyo Kita-Medical Center
Director Harumi Suzaki Professor Emeritus, Showa University School of Medicine
Director Ken Kitamura Vice-President, Shonan University of Medical Sciences
Director Makito Okamoto Professor Emeritus, Kitasato University
Director Syun Kanehara President, IGAKU-SHOIN Ltd.
Auditor Hiroshi Moriyama Professor Emeritus, The Jikei University School of Medicine
Auditor Yoshiomi Takada Ex-Secretary-General, Honjo International Scholarship Foundation
Council Member Shigeru Kikuchi Professor, Saitama Medical University, General Medical Center
Council Member Toshio Yoshihara Professor,Tokyo University of Technology
Council Member Koichi Omori Professor, Kyoto University
Council Member Taeko Okuno Special Advisor, Mitsui Memorial Hospital
Council Member Masaaki Hayashi President, Daiichi Medical Co. Ltd.
Council Member Hidenori Inohara Professor, Osaka University
Council Member Hitome Kobayashi Professor, Showa University
Council Member Shinichi Usami Professor Emeritus , Shinshu University
Council Member Hiromi Kojima Professor ,Jikei University School of Medicine
Council Member Toshimitsu Kobayashi Director, Senenrifu Hospital
Council Member Masashi Sugasawa Professor, Saitama Medical University International Medical Center
Council Member Nirou Tayama ORL Director, National Center for Global Health and Medicine
Council Member Tatsuo Matsunaga ORL Director, Tokyo Medical Center

Contact: SPIO Secretariat

Address: 1F Oyaide Bldg. 1-9-5 Yushima Bunkyo-ku Tokyo 113-0034 JAPAN
TEL:+81-3-5684-3707 | FAX:+81-3-5684-3708
Email:3387@spio.or.jp | Web site:https://www.spio.or.jp